Look at the All-Decade Teams for Ring of Honor Oversights

A writer for the Wichita Falls Times Record posted an article about which former Dallas Cowboys are most deserving of a place in the Ring of Honor. His list includes (in his order of ranking):

1. Drew Pearson

2. Ed “Too Tall” Jones

3. Clint Murchison

4. Tony Hill

5. Larry Allen

6. Charles Haley

7. Darren Woodson

8. Deion Sanders

9. Jimmy Johnson

10. Jay Novacek

He also mentioned Cornell Green and George Andrie. Thumbs up.

I am firmly convinced that the selection process for entry into the Hall of Fame and similar places of honor is as much about rewriting history as it is about celebrating history. Little else—to me at least—explains how players can earn first-team selections to All-Decade team yet fail to earn selections to the Hall of Fame while lesser players make it in. For instance, two first-team selections for the All-Decade Team of the 1970s are not in the Hall. That would include Cowboys Drew Pearson and Cliff Harris. Meanwhile, 16 of the 22 offensive and defensive players selected to the second team for that decade are in the Hall. That includes defensive back Roger Wehrli, who is simply not more deserving under any standard than Cliff Harris.

And just to show that I’m not being totally biased, someone please explain how Cris Carter is a first-team selection for the 1990s while Michael Irvin is a second-team selection, yet Irvin makes the Hall while Carter continues to wait.

As for the Ring of Honor, that selection process is apparently in Jerry Jones’ head, so I’m not sure anyone knows if there is a process. I cannot imagine that Pearson would not have overwhelming support from fans and the media if Jerry made the selection, but it isn’t like to happen anytime soon.

Consider a few more names who show up on the all-decade teams yet are not members of the Ring of Honor.

1. Ralph Neely

For an expansion team that went 0-11-1 in its first year, having two players (not counting Herb Adderley) make the All-Decade Team was quite an accomplishment. Everyone would know that Bob Lilly made the list. Few would guess that Neely was the other.

2. Harvey Martin

By the end of the 1970s, Martin, Randy White, and Too Tall Jones were household names and the main part of the new Doomsday Defense. Of the three, Martin made the All-Decade Team while the others didn’t (White, of course, made the 1980s team).

3. Mark Stepnoski

Another player that few might consider worthy of the Ring was center Mark Stepnoski. Of course, he left the team after the 1994 season, but he was a key member of the offensive line that helped the Cowboys win Super Bowls XXVII and XXVIII. He was later named to the All-Decade Team of the 1990s. If Charles Haley and Deion Sanders are worth mentioning because they played a few years in Dallas, so too is Stepnoski.

Comments are Closed